Attorneys at Law

DUI Lawyer Murfreesboro TN

When You’re Charged With a DUI, Retain an Experienced Attorney.

Call Us: (615) 895-0030



Driving Under the Influence is serious crime with serious consequences. While Tennessee law enforcement is cracking down on drunk drivers, some cases may involve an innocent driver or individual. If you have been charged with a DUI, contact the attorneys at Wilson, Howser and Oliver as soon as possible.

In order to initiate a traffic stop in Tennessee, the police officer must have reasonable suspicion that a crime has or is about to be committed by the driver of the vehicle. In a DUI scenario, this reasonable suspicion can include anything from failing to obey traffic laws, weaving in the roadway, light law violations, and automobile accidents. When the officer approaches the vehicle, the DUI investigation is well underway. Nearly all DUI investigations include field sobriety tests.

To make a DUI arrest in Tennessee, the officer must have probable cause that the driver showed signs of an impaired ability to operate a motor vehicle. Probable cause is a very low standard. But remember, a DUI charge does not always lead to a DUI conviction. The attorneys of Wilson, Howser and Oliver in Murfreesboro, TN are well versed in DUI law and are ready to take on your case.

Our highly skilled DUI attorneys are members of the American Association of Premier DUI Attorneys. They have received training on the same course materials that police officers are taught. The 3 biggest issues that present defenses in a DUI case include:

  1. Was the traffic stop legal?
  2. Did the field sobriety tests show any signs of impairment?
  3. Are the blood test results accurate?

The range of penalties for a DUI vary depending on if you have been convicted of a DUI in the past. No matter whether you are charged with your first or fourth DUI, Wilson, Howser and Oliver will stand by you in your legal proceedings.

First DUI

  • Class A Misdemeanor
  • Jail time of 48 hours up to 11 months, 29 days
  • License revocation for 1 year
  • Participation in an Alcohol and Drug Treatment Program
  • Pay restitution to any person suffering personal injury or loss
  • Fine of $350 to $1,500
  • Judge could require the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device
  • If 0.20 BAC or greater minimum jail time 7 consecutive days

Second DUI

  • Class A Misdemeanor
  • Jail time of 45 days to 11 months, 29 days
  • Mandatory fine of $600 to $3,500
  • License revocation for 2 years/Restricted License available after first year
  • Subject to vehicle seizure/forfeiture
  • Participation in an Alcohol and Drug Treatment Program
  • Judge could require the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device
  • If two (2) convictions of DUI in 5 years, Ignition Interlock Device required for 6 months after reinstatement at your expense
  • Pay restitution to any person suffering personal injury or loss

Third DUI

  • Class A Misdemeanor
  • Jail time of 120 days to 11 months, 29 days
  • Mandatory fine of $1,100 to $10,000
  • License revocation for 6-10 years/NO restricted license available
  • Subject to vehicle seizure/forfeiture
  • Participation in an Alcohol and Drug Treatment Program
  • Judge could require the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device
  • If two (2) convictions of DUI in 5 years, Ignition Interlock Device require for 6 months after reinstatement at your expense

Fourth or Subsequent DUI

  • Class E Felony
  • Punishment Range of 1 to 6 Years, with a minimum of 150 consecutive days served
  • Mandatory fine of $3,000 to $15,000
  • License revocation for 8 years/NO restricted license available
  • Subject to vehicle seizure/forfeiture
  • Participation in an Alcohol and Drug Treatment Program
  • Judge could order an Ignition Interlock Device installed at your expense
  • If two (2) convictions of DUI in 5 years, Ignition Interlock Device required for 6 months after reinstatement at your expense

6th and greater DUI Offender DUI

  • Class C Felony
  • Punishment Range of 3-15 Years, with a minimum of 150 consecutive days served
  • Mandatory fine of $3,000 to $15,000
  • License revocation for 8 years/NO restricted license available
  • Subject to vehicle seizure/forfeiture
  • Participation in an Alcohol and Drug Treatment Program
  • Judge could order an Ignition Interlock Device installed at your expense
  • If two (2) convictions of DUI in 5 years, Ignition Interlock Device required for 6 months after reinstatement at your expense

The attorneys at Wilson, Howser and Oliver will stand by you during your DUI case and trial. We thoroughly examine any and all evidence regarding your case, and build a powerful case for your defense. Whether the officer stopped you without reasonable suspicion or there wasn’t probable cause to make the arrest, our attorneys will fight to defend you and your case.

Learn More    about fighting your DUI charge.

Contact us to fight your DUI change and schedule your free case consultation.

Contact Us
Call Us: (615) 895-0030